loading...
Sign up to our newsletter We are currently dispatching orders as normal, but delivery times may be affected Find a rep
Free resources to help with learning at home Find out more

Snow Foal

Author: Susanna Bailey
Format: Paperback
Publication Date: 14-11-2019
ISBN: 978-1-4052-9493-5
Pages: 304

Regular price RRP £6.99 - In stock special offer

Description

'I absolutely love Snow Foal – it's so truthful, tender and touching. A book to read in a day and remember for a lifetime.' – Dame Jacqueline Wilson

The perfect children's book to curl up with and begin the new year. A beautiful and heart-wrenching middle grade debut for kids aged 9 to 11, full of love, healing, friendship and hope. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson's Tracey Beaker, Cathy Cassidy, Pax and Gill Lewis.

When eleven-year-old Addie goes to stay with a foster family on a remote Exmoor farm in the midst of a very cold winter, she is full of hurt, anger and a deep mistrust of everyone around her. Until one day, when she rescues a tiny wild foal from the moorland snow and Addie discovers that perhaps she’s not so alone after all.

And as adventure and unexpected friendship blossom, Addie is determined that both of them will know what is to be home again soon …

A beautifully written, warm read for anyone looking for a gorgeous family book to read together and to capture the imagination of young horse fans too.

Susanna Bailey divides her time between writing, freelance social-work, and lecturing in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University, where she also studied. Susanna wrote Snow Foal during her time at the same university where she drew much inspiration from her tutor, award-winning David Almond. Snow Foal has already been shortlisted for the Joan Aitken Future Classics Prize.