Snow Foal

Paperback

'I absolutely love Snow Foal – it's so truthful, tender and touching. A book to read in a day and remember for a lifetime.' – Dame Jacqueline Wilson

The perfect children's book to curl up with and begin the new year.A beautiful and heart-wrenching middle grade debut for kids aged 9 to 11, full of love, healing, friendship and hope. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson's Tracey Beaker, Cathy Cassidy, Pax and Gill Lewis.

When eleven-year-old Addie goes to stay with a foster family on a remote Exmoor farm in the midst of a very cold winter, she is full of hurt, anger and a deep mistrust of everyone around her. Until one day, when she rescues a tiny wild foal from the moorland snow and Addie discovers that perhaps she’s not so alone after all.

And as adventure and unexpected friendship blossom, Addie is determined that both of them will know what is to be home again soon …

A beautifully written, warm read for anyone looking for a gorgeous family book to read together and to capture the imagination of young horse fans too.

Susanna Bailey divides her time between writing, freelance social-work, and lecturing in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University, where she also studied. Susanna wrote Snow Foal during her time at the same university where she drew much inspiration from her tutor, award-winning David Almond. Snow Foal has already been shortlisted for the Joan Aitken Future Classics Prize.

RRP: £6.39 £7.99

ISBN

978-1-4052-9493-5

Publication Date

14-11-2019

Format

Paperback

Pages

304 pages

Dimensions

129x198mm

Author

Susanna Bailey

Susanna is a graduate of the Bath Spa University BA (Hons) Creative Writing and MAWYP. She’s a Lecturer in Creative Writing at the university and prior to this had a career in social work.Her debut novel, Snow Foal was longlisted for the key Blue Peter Best Stories Award, and nominated for the Lancashire Libraries Fantastic Fiction Award 2021.Prior to publication, Snow Foal was shortlisted for the 2017 Joan Aiken Future Classics Prize and given ‘Honorary Mention’ in the Bath Spa/United Agents Prize of that year.Susanna’s second novel Otters’ Moon, published in 2020 and was chosen as the basis for the National Federation for Education Research/ Bite into Writing Book 3 (UK Year 6 teacher and pupil resource). It also jointly won 1st-place in the Made for Mums Awards 2021 as the standout fiction title for 9-12 year olds.Her third novel, Raven Winter, published in December 2021. A fourth, as yet untitled, middle grade novel will follow in July 2023.

Product Description

'I absolutely love Snow Foal – it's so truthful, tender and touching. A book to read in a day and remember for a lifetime.' – Dame Jacqueline Wilson

The perfect children's book to curl up with and begin the new year.A beautiful and heart-wrenching middle grade debut for kids aged 9 to 11, full of love, healing, friendship and hope. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson's Tracey Beaker, Cathy Cassidy, Pax and Gill Lewis.

When eleven-year-old Addie goes to stay with a foster family on a remote Exmoor farm in the midst of a very cold winter, she is full of hurt, anger and a deep mistrust of everyone around her. Until one day, when she rescues a tiny wild foal from the moorland snow and Addie discovers that perhaps she’s not so alone after all.

And as adventure and unexpected friendship blossom, Addie is determined that both of them will know what is to be home again soon …

A beautifully written, warm read for anyone looking for a gorgeous family book to read together and to capture the imagination of young horse fans too.

Susanna Bailey divides her time between writing, freelance social-work, and lecturing in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University, where she also studied. Susanna wrote Snow Foal during her time at the same university where she drew much inspiration from her tutor, award-winning David Almond. Snow Foal has already been shortlisted for the Joan Aitken Future Classics Prize.

ISBN

978-1-4052-9493-5

Publication Date

14-11-2019

Format

Paperback

Pages

304 pages

Dimensions

129x198mm

Product Description

'I absolutely love Snow Foal – it's so truthful, tender and touching. A book to read in a day and remember for a lifetime.' – Dame Jacqueline Wilson

The perfect children's book to curl up with and begin the new year.A beautiful and heart-wrenching middle grade debut for kids aged 9 to 11, full of love, healing, friendship and hope. Perfect for fans of Jacqueline Wilson's Tracey Beaker, Cathy Cassidy, Pax and Gill Lewis.

When eleven-year-old Addie goes to stay with a foster family on a remote Exmoor farm in the midst of a very cold winter, she is full of hurt, anger and a deep mistrust of everyone around her. Until one day, when she rescues a tiny wild foal from the moorland snow and Addie discovers that perhaps she’s not so alone after all.

And as adventure and unexpected friendship blossom, Addie is determined that both of them will know what is to be home again soon …

A beautifully written, warm read for anyone looking for a gorgeous family book to read together and to capture the imagination of young horse fans too.

Susanna Bailey divides her time between writing, freelance social-work, and lecturing in Creative Writing at Bath Spa University, where she also studied. Susanna wrote Snow Foal during her time at the same university where she drew much inspiration from her tutor, award-winning David Almond. Snow Foal has already been shortlisted for the Joan Aitken Future Classics Prize.

Author

Susanna Bailey

Susanna is a graduate of the Bath Spa University BA (Hons) Creative Writing and MAWYP. She’s a Lecturer in Creative Writing at the university and prior to this had a career in social work.Her debut novel, Snow Foal was longlisted for the key Blue Peter Best Stories Award, and nominated for the Lancashire Libraries Fantastic Fiction Award 2021.Prior to publication, Snow Foal was shortlisted for the 2017 Joan Aiken Future Classics Prize and given ‘Honorary Mention’ in the Bath Spa/United Agents Prize of that year.Susanna’s second novel Otters’ Moon, published in 2020 and was chosen as the basis for the National Federation for Education Research/ Bite into Writing Book 3 (UK Year 6 teacher and pupil resource). It also jointly won 1st-place in the Made for Mums Awards 2021 as the standout fiction title for 9-12 year olds.Her third novel, Raven Winter, published in December 2021. A fourth, as yet untitled, middle grade novel will follow in July 2023.