The Moonchild series - Moonchild: Voyage of the Lost and Found

Paperback

The first in a magical new middle grade series from a rising star author, perfect for fans of Kiran Millwood Hargrave and Michelle Harrison. Inspired by The Arabian Nights.

The Sahar Peninsula lies just beyond the horizon, but it isn't the easiest place to get to. No maps will take you there, nor can it be charted by gazing up at the stars, or down at a compass…

Twelve year old Amira has only ever known a life at sea with her sea-witch mothers. So when their ship is wrecked in a great storm, Amira is delighted to have an opportunity to explore land – accompanied by her best friend Namur – a jinn in cat form. Amira soon finds a boy who has a jinn like her, and learns that their spirit companions are connected to the mysterious storm that gets stronger each day.

When Namur goes missing Amira discovers she has to visit a magical place; a place where lost things can be found. But will Amira also discover her own destiny, and find out what it truly means to be a Moonchild?

Go on more magical adventures in Moonchild: City of the Sun, the stunning sequel to Moonchild: Voyage of the Lost and Found

RRP: £5.59 £6.99

ISBN

978-1-4052-9321-1

Publication Date

06-08-2020

Format

Paperback

Pages

288 pages

Dimensions

129x198mm

Author

Aisha Bushby, Illustrated by Rachael Dean

Aisha Bushby is a writer who combines heartbreaking emotional stories and unforgettable characters with a sprinkling of magic. She was selected as one of only four previously unpublished authors in the Stripes anthology, A Change is Gonna Come, alongside writers such as Patrice Lawrence, Tanya Byrne and Nikesh Shukla. The anthology was awarded a YA Book Prize Special Achievement Award. Her debut novel, A Pocketful of Stars (2019), was nominated for the Carnegie Medal and the Branford Boase and described as ‘poignant and atmospheric’ by the Guardian. Her second novel, Moonchild: Voyage of the Lost and Found (2020) is a magical fantasy adventure inspired by Arabian Nights. You can follow her on Twitter @aishabushby.

Product Description

The first in a magical new middle grade series from a rising star author, perfect for fans of Kiran Millwood Hargrave and Michelle Harrison. Inspired by The Arabian Nights.

The Sahar Peninsula lies just beyond the horizon, but it isn't the easiest place to get to. No maps will take you there, nor can it be charted by gazing up at the stars, or down at a compass…

Twelve year old Amira has only ever known a life at sea with her sea-witch mothers. So when their ship is wrecked in a great storm, Amira is delighted to have an opportunity to explore land – accompanied by her best friend Namur – a jinn in cat form. Amira soon finds a boy who has a jinn like her, and learns that their spirit companions are connected to the mysterious storm that gets stronger each day.

When Namur goes missing Amira discovers she has to visit a magical place; a place where lost things can be found. But will Amira also discover her own destiny, and find out what it truly means to be a Moonchild?

Go on more magical adventures in Moonchild: City of the Sun, the stunning sequel to Moonchild: Voyage of the Lost and Found

ISBN

978-1-4052-9321-1

Publication Date

06-08-2020

Format

Paperback

Pages

288 pages

Dimensions

129x198mm

Product Description

The first in a magical new middle grade series from a rising star author, perfect for fans of Kiran Millwood Hargrave and Michelle Harrison. Inspired by The Arabian Nights.

The Sahar Peninsula lies just beyond the horizon, but it isn't the easiest place to get to. No maps will take you there, nor can it be charted by gazing up at the stars, or down at a compass…

Twelve year old Amira has only ever known a life at sea with her sea-witch mothers. So when their ship is wrecked in a great storm, Amira is delighted to have an opportunity to explore land – accompanied by her best friend Namur – a jinn in cat form. Amira soon finds a boy who has a jinn like her, and learns that their spirit companions are connected to the mysterious storm that gets stronger each day.

When Namur goes missing Amira discovers she has to visit a magical place; a place where lost things can be found. But will Amira also discover her own destiny, and find out what it truly means to be a Moonchild?

Go on more magical adventures in Moonchild: City of the Sun, the stunning sequel to Moonchild: Voyage of the Lost and Found

Author

Aisha Bushby, Illustrated by Rachael Dean

Aisha Bushby is a writer who combines heartbreaking emotional stories and unforgettable characters with a sprinkling of magic. She was selected as one of only four previously unpublished authors in the Stripes anthology, A Change is Gonna Come, alongside writers such as Patrice Lawrence, Tanya Byrne and Nikesh Shukla. The anthology was awarded a YA Book Prize Special Achievement Award. Her debut novel, A Pocketful of Stars (2019), was nominated for the Carnegie Medal and the Branford Boase and described as ‘poignant and atmospheric’ by the Guardian. Her second novel, Moonchild: Voyage of the Lost and Found (2020) is a magical fantasy adventure inspired by Arabian Nights. You can follow her on Twitter @aishabushby.