Splash

Paperback

Claire Cashmore, MBE and Paralympic gold medallist, was born without a left forearm – but she never let being different stand in the way of her big dreams. Splash is based on Claire’s real-life experience: this gold-medal-winning swimmer really was scared of water … until one day, everything changed!

These are Claire’s big sisters.
They call her Bear and ruffle her hair.
And whatever Claire’s sisters can do,
Claire can do too …

But there is one thing Claire won't do …The water in the swimming pool makes her feel squirmy inside. Follow her sisters? No thank you! Not today?

Can Claire conquer her fears? Can she set foot in the water – and what will happen if she does?

Perfect for fans of What Happened to You? by James Catchpole and Karen George.

Guardian Book of the Month (26th June 2021)

‘Exuberant . . . full of the joys of swimming. The heroine has a limb difference, understatedly conveyed in both text and pictures, while the chief focus of the story is fun, perseverance and supportive family love’ – Imogen Russell Williams, Guardian

Splash features a brilliantly bold heroine, who happens to be differently abled, and brims with fun, positivity and Claire Cashmore’s inspirational growth mindset message.

RRP: £6.39 £7.99

ISBN

978-0-7555-0285-1

Publication Date

10-06-2021

Format

Paperback

Pages

32 pages

Dimensions

245x275mm

Author

Claire Cashmore, Illustrated by Sharon Davey

Claire Cashmore, MBE, is a Paralympic swimming champion and Paralympic gold medallist. She has taken part in four Paralympic Games, her first, in Athens 2004, aged just sixteen. At the 2016 Rio Olympics, she won her first Paralympic gold. Now competing as a paratriathlete, Claire is the current ITU World Champion. She was appointed a Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) in 2017 and is a passionate ambassador for disability sport.Splash is her first picture book.Sharon Davey is the illustrator of I Don't Like Books. Never. Ever. The End. and Do Not Disturb the Dragons,. Her debut book as an author-illustrator, Bears Don't Wear Shoes, publishes in Spring 2021.

Product Description

Claire Cashmore, MBE and Paralympic gold medallist, was born without a left forearm – but she never let being different stand in the way of her big dreams. Splash is based on Claire’s real-life experience: this gold-medal-winning swimmer really was scared of water … until one day, everything changed!

These are Claire’s big sisters.
They call her Bear and ruffle her hair.
And whatever Claire’s sisters can do,
Claire can do too …

But there is one thing Claire won't do …The water in the swimming pool makes her feel squirmy inside. Follow her sisters? No thank you! Not today?

Can Claire conquer her fears? Can she set foot in the water – and what will happen if she does?

Perfect for fans of What Happened to You? by James Catchpole and Karen George.

Guardian Book of the Month (26th June 2021)

‘Exuberant . . . full of the joys of swimming. The heroine has a limb difference, understatedly conveyed in both text and pictures, while the chief focus of the story is fun, perseverance and supportive family love’ – Imogen Russell Williams, Guardian

Splash features a brilliantly bold heroine, who happens to be differently abled, and brims with fun, positivity and Claire Cashmore’s inspirational growth mindset message.

ISBN

978-0-7555-0285-1

Publication Date

10-06-2021

Format

Paperback

Pages

32 pages

Dimensions

245x275mm

Product Description

Claire Cashmore, MBE and Paralympic gold medallist, was born without a left forearm – but she never let being different stand in the way of her big dreams. Splash is based on Claire’s real-life experience: this gold-medal-winning swimmer really was scared of water … until one day, everything changed!

These are Claire’s big sisters.
They call her Bear and ruffle her hair.
And whatever Claire’s sisters can do,
Claire can do too …

But there is one thing Claire won't do …The water in the swimming pool makes her feel squirmy inside. Follow her sisters? No thank you! Not today?

Can Claire conquer her fears? Can she set foot in the water – and what will happen if she does?

Perfect for fans of What Happened to You? by James Catchpole and Karen George.

Guardian Book of the Month (26th June 2021)

‘Exuberant . . . full of the joys of swimming. The heroine has a limb difference, understatedly conveyed in both text and pictures, while the chief focus of the story is fun, perseverance and supportive family love’ – Imogen Russell Williams, Guardian

Splash features a brilliantly bold heroine, who happens to be differently abled, and brims with fun, positivity and Claire Cashmore’s inspirational growth mindset message.

Author

Claire Cashmore, Illustrated by Sharon Davey

Claire Cashmore, MBE, is a Paralympic swimming champion and Paralympic gold medallist. She has taken part in four Paralympic Games, her first, in Athens 2004, aged just sixteen. At the 2016 Rio Olympics, she won her first Paralympic gold. Now competing as a paratriathlete, Claire is the current ITU World Champion. She was appointed a Member of the Order of the British Empire (MBE) in 2017 and is a passionate ambassador for disability sport.Splash is her first picture book.Sharon Davey is the illustrator of I Don't Like Books. Never. Ever. The End. and Do Not Disturb the Dragons,. Her debut book as an author-illustrator, Bears Don't Wear Shoes, publishes in Spring 2021.